Regis Records - Classical Music Producer Classical & Nostalgia
Famous Artists
Recommended Recordings
Wednesday 21st of August 2019


Cello Concerto & Violin Concerto

Cello Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107 Mstislav Rostropovich (cello) Philadelphia Orchestra Eugene Ormandy (conductor) Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99 David Oistrakh (violin) Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra Evgeny Mravinsky (conductor) David Oistrakh and Mstislav Rostropovich perform concertos by Shostakovich with distinguished accompaniment given by the Leningrad Philharmonic and Philadelphia Orchestras respectively. Both performances are benchmark recordings against which all newcomers are judged. Available at super budget price. ‘It would be impossible to over-praise Rostropovich's performance of the solo part, which combines phenomenal technique with the complete musical understanding one expects of a soloist who has had the advantage of working with the composer. What is more, Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra accompany him magnificently.’ Gramophone of Cello Concerto


Back to Listing